(ON TOPIC) What the f**k is a “strump”?

So yeah. Let’s get serious.

I was feeling like I was in a _______ but felt there was no word to describe the _______ I was in so I decided to take the situation by the proverbial horns and create my own word to fill in the blanks:

strump [ˈstrəmp] noun

  1. a period during which a person performs slow or ineffectively due to a recent detachment from emotionally significant people and/or places
  2. an act or instance of strumping

Ah. Much better. Strump! Like a transitional slump! And not to be confused with “strumpet,” which is a female prostitute. The similarity between the two words is purely coincidental because I will never have the desire to engage a strumpet in any sort of imaginable (or unimaginable) activity.

The curious thing about strumps is that not everyone has them. Some people simply don’t get emotionally attached to things, which means they probably won’t enter a period of sentimental reflection after going through a potentially significant experience like college or a move to a new state. And I’m kind of envious of the “no strump” thang. Except not really. I’d prefer to really feel things than to feel nothing at all. Ignorance may be bliss, but having meaningful relationships with things can bring happiness, too. (BARF. I sound like a 70-year-old grandma. Stick with me here though.)

Let’s talk about the people who do experience strumps. The interesting thing about them is that they’re simultaneously helpful and hindering. This, in turn, can be frustrating. For one, it’s totally acceptable to feel sad after leaving unforgettable people, places, and experiences you’ve had with those people in those places. This sadness is helpful in that it can be an important indicator of the closeness you had with these things. And good memories are good. (Is that you again, Grandma?) The hindrance comes when you let the strump get the best of you to the point of physical or emotional debilitation. This, dear reader(s), is when excessive Hulu watching happens.

So can the Strump be defeated? Maybe. Be sad, think about the good times you’ve had, and try to appreciate the simple fact that they happened. Or just accept the fact that you’re in a strump with the knowledge that it’s not eternal and that there are many memorable moments to come. (The caveat here is that, in this moment, don’t think about all the strumps that are to follow these aforementioned memorable moments to come.) Easier said than done? Obviously. But what isn’t? (Answer: a Thomas Pynchon novel. Try reading one of those beasts and then explaining to someone how you got through it.)

On that note, I must resume my current strump as I just finished the best internship I’ve ever had with a group of really incredible people in the magical place that is Chicagoland. I should also start mentally preparing for my next strump, which is sure to come in December when I leave London. Hulu (read: The Bachelorette marathon), here I come.

Happy Strumping!

Leave a Reply

