(THE LONDON CHRONICLES) #2: Musicals, Misfits, and Lessons from the BBC

I empathize with Harry Potter and pals because it took seven books before they figured out how to defeat He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. (What’s the rule here? Can we say “Voldemort” since the series is complete, or must we keep mum for future generations?)

Similarly, I’ve been keeping up with this blog for nearly one year now and I still have no guiding approach to it. Considering a blog is essentially equal to a monster like Voldemort, I suppose I have to wait seven-books-worth of time before my blog comes together. Sorry, reader(s).

But for now, I shall continue with the London Chronicles. Here’s a list of 10 things I’ve learned at the BBC thus far:

  1. The teenager is the scariest specimen alive. They multi-task like mad men, and their social habits are inadvertently changing the online Experience as we know it.
  2. Producing a natural history program like “Planet Earth” is the most difficult thing one can do in this manic world.
  3. Be concise in everything you do.
  4. There are seven types of stories. (Kind of.)
  5. Interviewing people is an acquired skill that before acquisition may or may not make you pee your pants.
  6. Pitching shows is an acquired skill that before acquisition may or may not make you pee your pants.
  7. Google’s advanced search options rule.
  8. Creativity is…working against what your brain is trained to do.
  9. All live-action, big-budget hour-long historical dramas should be revamped as animated 30-minute reality shows featuring Ricky Gervais.
  10. The BBC Academy has taught me more in two weeks than most of my other classes ever have.

I swear I did more this week than go to class, so I’ll conclude with an obnoxiously long run-on sentence detailing the remainder of my activities: I got sick, finished the British TV series “Misfits” because I live in the UK now and have full access to its online content, visited an incredible Miró exhibit at the Tate Modern, experienced emotional flights of fancy while seeing “Legally Blonde” (the musical), attended a 9/11 service at Westminster Abbey, saw “Tinker Tailor Solider Spy” and left the theater confused but in awe, saw “Billy Elliot” (the musical) and left wishing I could dance like that little poof can, suffered from a minor anxiety attack as I realized I’m graduating in December, and finally took a day trip to Greenwich where I learned British people have a sense of humor and New Yorkers do not.

Pic of the Week: During our day trip to Greenwich, we stood on the Prime Meridian line. This meant we were in the Eastern and Western hemispheres at the same time. Nerdy!

Got it all? Catch ya next week.

Love,

Jono

Leave a Reply

